What I Eat In a Day // September 2017

Ok first off, I am aware of how long it has been since I have last posted, and I am actually sorry about that. I have a few drafts almost ready to go up, so the next few weeks (at least) should go smoothly!

As for this post, I have seen these videos ALL OVER YouTube. It is incredibly interesting to me, so I figure why not share my own version. Since I do not have a YouTube channel (even though I think about making one often!), I’ll do what I always do and write a blog post about it. Full disclosure, I definitely don’t eat the same things every day… does anyone, for that matter? This is just one day out of many, and my hopes of sharing this with you is that maybe you’ll get inspired or even share your own ideas!

Get cozy, today we’re talking about what I ate in a day!

new doc 2017-09-20 11.51.46_4.jpg

I would like to start off by saying that I drink water with every single meal and all throughout the day!

Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 12.41.13 PM.png

I usually like to eat a larger breakfast if I have the time. I am not a huge lunch fan, so it is nice to have food carry me through so that I only need a few snacks when the afternoon rolls around. One of my favorite things to eat are eggs, which is one of the three foods I struggle with when I think about going vegan. They are full of protein, versatile, and so easy. I sautéed some spinach (which looks nonexistent but I promise you it is in there), then scrambled two eggs with salt and pepper. Along side it I like to eat whole wheat toast! I usually eat the eggs with the toast, and whatever is left over I top with jam, cream cheese, butter, or nut butter. Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 11.54.52 AM

I always eat half of a grapefruit with my food, I love the tang and I feel like it really boosts my energy. There are actually so many health benefits to grapefruit that this post would end up being so long if I explained, so here are some articles that may help you out if you’re curious: LikeHack.org & Dr. Oz. Of coarse the internet is huge so feel free to do your own research as well!

Lastly, I sometimes have greek yogurt, and today happened to be one of those days. I have yet to find a dairy free yogurt that I like and has similar benefits to regular dairy yogurt. I am looking for a dairy free yogurt that is protein filled and low in sugar… if anyone has suggestions please let me know in the comments! I used to eat yogurt everyday, but since changing my diet I eat it less and less. I make my yogurt with plain greek yogurt and mix it with some fruit preserves. I like doing this because I can control the sugar content, plus I can change the flavors based on what I am in the mood for or what is in season! On this day, it was raspberry!

Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 12.41.18 PM.png

A little while after I ate breakfast, I was feeling a bit sleepy so I made a cup of tea. I decided on one of my favorite green teas by Harney and Sons. This is by far my favored tea brand… they have so many options and everything is always good! I drank the Tropical Green Tea, which has hints of pineapple! Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 12.13.06 PM.png

Like I said, I am not big on lunch. A little while after I drank the tea, I decided to make a small acai bowl to fulfill the sweet cravings I had. To make the acai bowl I blended 1/4 of a frozen banana, a few frozen strawberries, about 2-3 teaspoons of acai powder, a small handful of fresh blackberries, and enough almond milk so that it blended into the consistency I wanted! I then topped it with toasted coconut granola, strawberries, and chia seeds.

IMG_3281.JPG

I highly recommend acai bowls. It is a vessel that can easily carry a multitude of  health benefits… whatever you can imagine can go into this smoothie bowl. My favorite style is berry, but you can make it tropical, chocolatey, etc. The acai berry, known as a superfood, is native to South America. The benefits of the berry alone are quite impressive. Just a quick google search lead me to this article, feel free to read if you’re interested on some of the health benefits: Organic Facts.

Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 12.41.22 PM

Dinner was simple, my mom actually made it! It definitely doesn’t look the prettiest, and I didn’t even get the chance to take a picture of it on my plate, but it was so good and satisfying! We had brown rice cakes that had a few spices, broccoli, mustard, veggie broth, and were topped with cheddar cheese. With that we had a side of sautéed cauliflower and french beans. If you’re interested in the recipe for the brown rice cakes leave me a comment and I’ll be sure to try and find a link for you. They were pretty good, but they definitely needed a sauce. You could truly make any sauce you want, the cake is a fairly blank canvas. Spicy ketchup even works well!

IMG_3282.JPG

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 1.56.49 PM

And that is everything I ate in a day! Oddly enough, I did not have dessert… which is so strange. I always say every meal should be ended with something sweet! Something I fail to mention often is that I talk about foods that have health benefits, and provide you with some information, however I encourage you to do your own research. It is important that your priorities lie with your own body… specifically how it reacts and how foods make you feel! Something that I have learned is that everyone is so different, and it probably takes nothing short of a lifetime to discover what foods work best with your overall physical and mental health! I encourage you to try new things and I am so glad I have an outlet so that I can share what I love about food!

I will definitely be doing more of these, they were so fun and I genuinely find stuff like this interesting! Thanks for visiting and I hope to see you on here again!

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 8.27.45 PM

mouth sketch inspired by this post

Leave a Reply

