Sushi Bowl For One

This week I have an amazing meal idea to bring you guys that kind of came upon me on a whim. When I am home alone for dinner I usually hate getting takeout, as I feel like it is such a hassle. I try to make food with things that we may already have, and this week I wanted to get a little more creative. In addition to that, I needed a meal that was easy to transport and didn’t need to be super hot or super cold. This is the perfect dish for that, assuming you’re excluding seafood and keeping it vegan! I have seen a few people make this kind of thing before and for some reason I was dying to make my own version. It may seem like it has many components but they’re all simple, and you probably have most of the ingredients. Full disclosure, I maybe had to go out and buy a few things to make this exactly the way I wanted it but that is the beauty of it, as it can be made exactly to your own taste and preference (or pantry). I just filled mine with sushi basics that I like. I love a cool cucumber avocado roll so that is what inspired me most. Feel free to change and adapt according to how you like yours made.

Get cozy and grab your chopsticks(?) if you are skilled enough to eat rice with them.

Screen Shot 2017-08-15 at 5.52.44 PM

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 5.22.00 PM

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 5.18.31 PM

// RICE

Ingredients

1 cup of uncooked Sushi Rice (short grain) *

Water (Use the quantity your package directions require according to the amount of rice you’re making) + more to rinse the rice

Method

In a sifter (or something with holes small enough so that the rice doesn’t fall through), add your uncooked rice and rinse with water for (2) 30 second intervals. Between each rinse turn the rice a bit to make sure all of it is being rinsed. We do this to remove starch, making the rice less sticky and easier to handle.

Once you are finished, add the rice into a small to medium sauce pot and cook according to your package directions.

Once cooled a bit add rice into the vessel of choice for your Sushi Bowl, cover, and place in the refrigerator for later.

*Sushi rice can be found in the Asian or International isle of your grocery store, and is usually by the coconut and miso products (in my experience).

// SESAME SEEDS

Ingredients 

2 tsp of Sesame Seeds (you may not need all of this depending on your preference)

Method

Toast the sesame seeds dry in a non stick pan until they are golden brown. This process adds another layer of flavor.

// MAPLED CASHEWS

Ingredients

1/4 cup of unsalted Cashews

1 and 1/2 tsp of Maple Syrup

1/4 tsp of Agave

Himalayan Salt

Method

Not insanely Asian, however they’re insanely good and versatile. You can double this and save them to snack on or even top your salads with!

Chop the cashews if they are whole, then add them dry to a non stick pan. Toast them until they are extremely fragrant, then add them to a bowl.

Toss the cashews in the maple syrup and agave, then salt well.

Allow them to cool on a piece of parchment.

// VEGETABLES & NORI

Ingredients 

1/4 cup Scallions

1/2 cup Cucumber

1 Avocado

1/4 cup Carrots

Nori as needed * (I did about 1 tsp chopped because I didn’t want much, but that’s up to you!)

Method

Chop/prep them however you prefer!

* Along with the rice, the nori can be found in that section as well (one would hope)!

// SAUCE

Ingredients

1/2 cup low sodium Soy Sauce

1 tbsp Brown Sugar (you can also use Agave to keep it vegan!)

Method 

Just whisk them together!

 

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 5.18.38 PM

This is fairly self explanatory and definitely preferential, but I’ll explain how I did it anyway!

* Take the rice from the refrigerator and fluff it up a bit with your fork.

* Add your vegetables, then top with the cashews and sesame seeds.

* Finally, pour over the sauce as desired.

You can definitely add wasabi and ginger, however I don’t particularly care for them so I excluded them from this recipe.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 1.56.49 PM

I took this with me on a picnic so I packed all of my ingredients in a bag. Below I’ve listed how I did it, just incase you’re wondering and want to do it yourself!

Picnic Checklist:

* 1 bag filled with 3 separate bags, each containing a separate vegetable. (carrot, cucumber, scallion) I left these in the fridge until I was leaving! I left them separate just because I didn’t want the moisture from each vegetable combining.

* 1 container filled with a small container containing sauce, a bag with the cashews, and then the sesame seeds just loose on the bottom!

* Whole avocado uncut

* Bag of nori

*Container of rice

* Knife (for avocado), spoon, and fork

The reason why I kept this all separate is because some things were cold, some crunchy, and the sauce would make it soggy!

I am definitely not proud of this plate up… but in my defense it was windy and
I kind of just wanted to eat it as soon as possible! I also had to cut an avocado with a plastic knife. Let me know if you try it out!

IMG_3202

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 8.27.45 PM

 

Sushi drawing inspired by vector sushi roll sketch xx

Leave a Reply

