The Best Homemade Hair Mask

When I say best, I say it respectively because this mask is the BEST for treating dry, dull, and frizzy hair.  I literally used to do this mask all the time back in the day, when I was trying to achieve mermaid length hair. It is safe to say I am far past that phase because sometimes a person can really have too much hair. I eventually got consistent trims, going shorter and shorter. However, for someone that never wanted to get it cut before then because I thought it would inhibit my hair growth, this mask actually did wonders. My hair was at it’s healthiest then, and I honestly do attribute a fair amount of that success to this hair mask.

More recently, I have cut my hair and I have added more layers. I love how layers add volume, but I hate how they make my hair feel dry and tangly overtime. Because of that I decided I needed something more moisturizing. I did this hair mask and it instantly reminded me why I did it back then and why I love it now.

Get cozy because you’re about to have some incredibly soft and shiny hair. It will be so hard for you to stop asking people to touch it…

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 12.20.34 PM

 

Ingredients

1/4 cup Freshly Brewed Coffee

1/4 cup Melted Coconut Oil (Organic and Unrefined)

1 Banana

 

Method 

Brew your coffee as you would normally and set aside and allow it to cool. It is ok if the coffee is from the morning, but I wouldn’t use coffee from before that. Melt the coconut oil either in the microwave or on the stove. While thats going, mash the banana. Add all the ingredients into a bowl and mix everything together with a fork or a whisk.

Make sure you are wearing a shirt you don’t really care about that much, because you may stain it in the process or get oil splotches on it. I usually do this in my bathroom over the sink, but if that area is not big enough for you, you can totally do it over the kitchen sink! Apply the mask all over your hair, even on the roots, then clip your hair up to rest. It sounds weird, and yes it may make your hair a bit greasy for the next few days (or washes) but it’s important. You can section it off as though you were curling or straightening your hair, whatever method works best for you. Let sit for about a half an hour, then you may take a shower. Rinse your hair with the hottest water you can stand (to rid of the coconut oil). Shampoo once or twice depending on how much you think you need to and condition as you normally would. Be sure to hit your hair with a blast of cold water before you leave the shower, as it seals your cuticle preserving shine and moisture. It isn’t the end of the world if you don’t get all of the oil out (in fact it is better), just plan on wearing your hair up the next day!

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 1.56.49 PM

 

 

Why These Ingredients? 

* We use Coconut Oil for moisture, strength (helps prevent breakage and split ends), scalp healing (soothes dandruff and any other irritation, promoting root stimulation), and shine.

* We use Coffee for stimulation to promote hair growth, to smooth, and to keep hair shiny.

* We use the vitamins in Bananas for softer hair, shine, to fight hair loss, and promote hair strength.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 1.56.49 PM

 

 

You can refrigerate this and let it set up a bit so that it is more of a cream and less of a liquid when you apply it, and it would definitely make it less messy. Mine made exactly a FullSizeRendercup which is probably enough for two people to use, so maybe consider doing this with someone. If you look closely on the bottom right you can see my dog, as she was practically drooling over this. I think she might be obsessed with the smell of coffee… that makes two of us then.

One thing I love about this mask is that you can also add things to it as well. If you have any ingredients that work well on your hair go ahead and add it in here!

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 12.27.47 PM

Leave a Reply

