The Perfect London Fog at Home

*** Before I start the post there is a slight blog change if you have not noticed! Same great food posts with the addition of more lifestyle content to fit the vibe I want for this blog!***

The London Fog. This is probably one of my favorite drinks in the entire world. For a long period of time I think I preferred this to the much more humble and easy choice of coffee. My love for this drink spiked when I ate a chocolate that was infused with Earl Grey Tea, which was something I had never tried before. Of coarse this moment hit a strain of curiosity, so for a project my partner and I decided to make it the focus of our dessert. When we sat down we wanted each bite to be the same experience so we decided to base it off of another one. You are sitting in a cafe drinking a london fog and a vanilla wafer cookie. And thus, our magnificent entreme (layered dessert typically with an insert and an exterior of mousse) was created. Almost everyday from there I would  go to our cafe and order a london fog (with almond milk of coarse) and it was usually good however there was always a problem with the foam. Almond milk can be quite a challenge as far as getting a thick layer of dry or even wet foam, however I have a solution for you of coarse! I would even get the drink from Starbucks, but the problem was that it was almost never consistent. I decided since I am no longer at school and can pretty much only rely on Starbucks I would try to nail it at home. Here is how I did it.

new doc 2017-05-09 12.17.04_3

Yield: 1 drink, 12oz syrup

Ingredients

1 tsp or 1 bag – Earl Grey Tea (I use Harney and Sons)

1 cup plus 1/4 – Unsweetened Almond Milk

12 oz Sugar

12 oz Water

1 and 1/2 tsp – Vanilla Paste or 1 tsp- Extract (of good quality because you will taste it! It makes a difference!)

Nespresso Aeroccino or SOME kind of milk aerator

Method

So, this is actually pretty simple. The first thing I do is make a vanilla simple syrup and this can be done weeks in advance in bulk and then stored in the fridge for daily use. It’s great for tea, coffee, or even some mixed drinks. The ratio for simple syrup is 1:1 by weight, meaning 16 oz of water to 16 oz of sugar. So for this you can make how ever much you want. I did 12 oz of both sugar and water, and then add whatever flavoring you want.

To make the vanilla simple syrup:

  1. Scale the water and sugar into a sauce pot.
  2. Bring just to a light boil (the sugar needs to be dissolved) and no further.
  3. Add in the vanilla, and taste. You can definitely add more if it isn’t strong enough.
  4. Let cool slightly then store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Now, lets get to the drink itself:

  1. Bring a cup of almond milk to a boil.
  2. Please use a good quality tea! That also makes all the difference! If using a tea steeper: add in a tsp of loose earl grey, then pour milk over and let sit for 5 mins. If using tea bags: place the bag into the milk, then cover. Steep for 5 mins.
  3. While the tea is steeping, in a cup add in 2-3 tsp of your vanilla simple syrup.
  4. Add in your 1/4 of almond milk into the Aeroccino. This thing is amazing and I highly recommend. I love how its hands free and always creates a consistent foam. Press for hot foam.
  5. Pour steeped tea over the simple syrup and give it a stir, then pour over your foam.
  6. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the perfect london fog.

IMG_2499

screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-3-43-41-pm

Leave a Reply

